The Champions League T20 competition is the pinnacle of the domestic T20 format. It includes the winners from the domestic games held in 7 of the 8 highest ranking test nations. It is held in either India or South Africa and cumulates huge revenue from sponsorship opportunities with over $6million being awarded in prize money and $2.5million going to the eventual winners.

The format works much the same as the larger competitions with two groups of four battling it out, before the top two qualify into the semi-finals then the finals, respectively.

The tournament takes place between October and November, which is often just as the season ends for most countries and starts for some. The tournament has run every year since 2009 and is thought to be one of the most viewed domestic cricket competitions in the world.

History of the Champions League T20

Since the tournaments inception in 2009, the CLT20 has had a bit of a sketchy upbringing. The first problems came about when players were contracted for multiple teams that had qualified. The IPL franchises claimed they initially owned the rights for the players to represent them as and where, but as players already contracted to counties in their domestic countries, conflicts arose.

There was probably little doubt that the pulling power and more significantly, the finances of the IPL franchises, stood firm with their initial offers and in the end the players who had represented them throughout their domestic league would do so again throughout the CLT20.

Once again, more conflict was to riddle the tournament which this time came from the ECB who were claiming that two of their representatives in their domestic league deserved to be in the CLT20. This in turn caused the ECB to threaten to make their own rival competition, but a deal was agreed by the ECB that only one would represent the nation in the competition.

The 5 current winners from the tournament are all from either India or Australia, with Mumbai Indians winning the completion twice in 2011 and most recently, in 2013. The New South Wales Blues, the Sydney Sixers and the Chennai Super Kings are the other winners.

Champions League T20 Records

Considering the tournament hasn’t been running for all that long, there are some pretty astonishing records that have taken place. The highest team total in the CLT20 actually comes from a single appearance by the Otago Volts from New Zealand who managed to amass a huge score of 242/4 versus the Perth Scorchers in 2013. This beat the previous highest of 215 by Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011.

The leading all time run scorer in the CLT20 is that of India’s Suresh Raina making 606 runs in four seasons. The Indian was representing Chennai Superkings at the time and includes a healthy average of 33.77 to boot. That isn’t the highest average in the competition though as this is held by David Warner representing the New South Wales Blues at an average of 55.60.

Sticking with David Warner, the feisty Australian actually holds the record for the two highest scores in the competition with 135 not out and 123 respectively. It’s fair to say that he is definitely one of the most destructive batsmen in the tournament.

No bowler has more wickets than Dwayne Bravo with his current standing of 28 being just one ahead of fellow West Indian, Sunil Narine. Narine is the most economical bowler though, going at just 4.46 runs per over, throughout the three seasons he has been involved in the competition.

Where to bet and markets to look out for

The CLT20 is actually quite a tricky one to bet on, mainly because that a lot of bookmakers don’t actually cover the competition. It’s a bizarre one as the competition includes some of the world’s best players in one of the most popular formats of cricket.

It’s for this reason that you will need to focus on some of the bigger bookmakers. From the 2013 competition we recall both Bet Victor and bet365 provided probably the most comprehensive set of markets out there. Honestly, it won’t compare to the likes of the IPL or the World T20, but it’s pretty solid and will give you a decent range of markets.

Choosing your betting markets becomes pretty tricky as a result of lack of options. As with most Twenty20 games you should be looking at the more explosive markets, such as the most sixes and top run scorers. We tend to stay away from the bowling performances as it can be so hit and miss with them. Some games you see a player take 3 wickets for next to no runs and the next they go around the park as if they were playing the sport for the first time.

We would suggest that you play it safe with the competition somewhat and stick to the more responsive markets such as the outright winner. As it’s so competitive, it often provides decent value at least.